Cruises

Coffee talk.
Deleted User 83

Cruises

Post by Deleted User 83 »

I am going on my first cruise in early March 2019. Taking my wife for her birthday. 311 Cruise to Harvest Caye, Belize and Costa Maya, Mexico.

Looking for any general advice and/or pro-tips from any cruisers on here. Just about any information at all will be helpful (i.e. packing, ship navigating, drinks, food, excursions, etc.) as I am a total noob.
Deleted User 62

Re: Cruises

Post by Deleted User 62 »

Belize-Go cave tubing. Period.
Costa Maya- The stop there is basically just dropping you off to shop.
Take a ride 10 miles south to Mahahual. (oddly, you can't take a cab there, but you can take one to get back) That may have changed . There are busses that take folks down there. Some of the best water and beaches you will ever see.
Deleted User 62

Oh, pack alcohol in your largest suitcase.
Keep a change of clothes in a carry on, you won't see your actual bags for several hours.
If you drink a lot of soft drinks, buy the soft drink card.
Get as far away from where ever the ship lets you off as quickly as you can.

Sanitize your hands...CONSTANTLY

CAVE-tubing.com
Deleted User 62

Also, the ships have to drop anchor WAY offshore in Belize, and you have to tender back and forth.
Figure that 20 minutes into anything you do going or coming to the boat.
Deleted User 57

Post by Deleted User 57 »

My advice is to never bring sand to the beach. Just kidding!

Sort of.

141 and counting - down. Enjoy!
Deleted User 83

jeepinjayhawk wrote: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:27 pm Get as far away from where ever the ship lets you off as quickly as you can.
Thanks for all the info. What's the deal with this one? Is this simply to avoid the crowd, or are there other perils?
Deleted User 89

Post by Deleted User 89 »

cost and people, likely
Deleted User 89

Post by Deleted User 89 »

cruised the inner passage to alaska 20 years ago...would do again
Deleted User 83