The Crazy Years

Coffee talk.
kubandalum

The Crazy Years

Post by kubandalum »

While I was a student, the Student Union burned, a Savings & Loan near downtown Lawrence was bombed, and Summerfield Hall was bombed.

If I remember correctly, the police thought the fire was started by someone who threw a firebomb out of the elevator on the top floor, late in the evening when no one else was around. At least it started near the elevator. Students helped however they could that night, like bringing coffee to firefighters. A couple of days later, they asked for volunteers to help in the cleanup, and I helped roll up smoke-and-water damaged carpets inside. I was amazed at how much damage that soot-filled water does.

That was a week or so before the Kent State shootings. It was thought at the time that it was good the campus had a week to calm down before Kent State. Because of Kent State, the administration asked for volunteers to stay in campus buildings overnight to watch out for suspicious activity and report it. Nothing happened. I spent one night in Spooner Hall.

I was working as an usher in the balcony of the Murphy Hall Auditorium when the Summerfield Hall bomb went off. The play was in the last act, and the bomb sounded like a huge door had been slammed somewhere in Murphy Hall. The bomb was in Summerfield’s east stairwell across a wall from campus computers. One person in the building suffered broken eardrums. The computers were not damaged.

I think it was assumed that the S&L bombing was a political act.
“When you think of the good old days, think one word: dentistry.” — P.J. O’Rourke
Deleted User 183

Re: The Crazy Years

Post by Deleted User 183 »

I tend to forget how old you are and then you share your experiences and I am reminded.
That was supposed to make you smile.
I'm sorry you had to experience the chaos that you endured while as a college student. I can't even imagine. Must have been frightening and unnerving. Crazy years indeed.